MAVIM’s Proud Leadership History

No.  Name of Chairperson of the Board Tenure
1 Srimati Pratibha Patil 07-08-75 11-07-76
2 Sri Arjunrao Kasture 12-07-76 21-06-77
3 Sri Dadasaheb Rupvate 22-06-77 23-08-78
4 Sri Arjunrao Kasture 24-08-78 06-04-80
5 Sri A.K.G Desai 07-04-80 15-05-80
6 Sri Shridhar Hate 16-05-80 25-03-81
7 Sri Ulhas Gawli 26-03-81 15-09-81
8 Srimati Salma Siddiqui 16-09-81 06-12-82
9 Srimati Vasudha Deshmukh 07-12-82 04-01-87
10 Srimati Rajnitai Satav 05-01-87 04-10-88
11 Srimati Kamaltai Vichare 05-10-88 02-11-91
12 Dr. Vijaya Patil 04-11-91 24-04-95
13 Srimati Uttara Wagh 06-02-96 09-02-99
14 Dr. Neelam Gorhe 10-02-99 05-11-99
15 Srimati Rajni Patil 28-07-00 31-12-04
16 Srimati Prabha Ojha 02-09-06 31-08-09
17 Srimati Prabha Ojha 27-01-10 24-01-13
18 Srimati Jyoti Thakare 06-09-18

Smt. Jyoti Thakare,


Smt. Pratibha Patil, who went on to become the President of India, was the first chairperson of MAVIM during its genesis in 1975. Continuing this proud legacy is Smt. Jyoti Thakare, who is the 18th and current Chairperson of MAVIM. 

Smt. Jyoti Thakare possesses several academic degrees like B.A., B.Ed., M. Ed. (all in first class) and is also currently pursuing her PhD. A teacher by profession, she started her career as a secondary teacher in JNPT Uran, in Raigad District. Since then, she has been nominated for several awards in the field of education, including the Gyanjyoti Savitribai Phule Adarsha Shikshika Prize, Karmaveer Bhaurao Patil Award, Madhu Ambekar State Education Award from Ekta Cultural Academy. She was also selected as resource person for a teacher training program in Raigad district.  In addition to her career as a teacher, Mrs. Jyoti Thakare was selected as a news reader in Aakashwani Mumbai in 2006. During the period of 2006 to 2012, she was able to convey her voice to lakhs of people through this role. She possesses great cultural and literary prowess and has been associated with Konkan Marathi Sahitya Parishad (Komsap) since 1995 and was also honoured with the Outstanding Rural Writer Award and the Acharya Atre Kavikatta Award. In order to imbibe in her students, a love for language and literature, she has authored books such as “I have something to say…” and “ Madhubanatil Kavita”. 

In the year 2012, Mrs. Jyoti Thakare entered active politics. She contested and won the Kudus Zilla Parishad elections in Thane Zilla Parishad from the Shiv Sena party and she was able to tackle many important social issues due to her drive and determination to empower women and marginalized communities. Recognizing this, the party appointed her to be a member in the District Planning Committee and further promoted her as Shiv Sena’s  President of Mahila Agadhi in Palghar District in November 2013. She was also a master trainer, who trained members and officials of ZP and Panchayat samiti on capacity building. She has also represented Maharashtra in NRLM Countrywide Workshop held in Hyderabad in 2013.

During her challenging period from 2013-2018, she did an important job of building a women’s front in the rural areas of Palghar district. She often took a vigorous stand on the questions and problems of women and marginalized communities including roads, malnutrition and child mortality among many others, and took them up with the District Planning Committee. By addressing women’s problem, she was able to create a sense of confidence among the women of Palghar district.

In addition to being Chairperson of MAVIM, Smt. Jyoti Thakare  is also the Palghar Lok Sabha Coordinator of the Shiv Sena, and the Sampark Sanghatak of the two districts of Jalna and Hingoli. She is also a current member of the Palghar District Planning Committee and is a central member of the State Literature Committee of the Konkan Marathi Sahithya Parishad. She is also an honourable member of the state level Mahila Sahithya Sammelan of Komsap. Being named a team leader in the “Pratham Ti” program spearheaded by Shiv Sena’s visionary youth leader Adithya Thackerey ji, Smt. Jyoti Thakare is honoured to have played a role in translating his vision for women empowerment across the state of Maharashtra along with rest of the team members.

Smt Jyoti Thakare’s is a true leader who has risen through the ranks due to her strong determination to improve the lives of women. Her  roots as a teacher and grassroots social worker informs her leadership to this day and she is an inspiration to women everywhere. 

Smt. Shraddha Joshi Sharma,

Managing Director


Smt. Shraddha Joshi Sharma is the Managing Director of Mahila Arthik Vikas Mahamandal(MAVIM), which is the women’s development corporation of Maharashtra where she leads MAVIM’s efforts in financial inclusion, livelihoods development, grassroot institution building.

She started her career with the civil services in the year 2005 as the Deputy Collector of Nainital where she worked on issues related to rural development, tourism , environment and women’s development. It here that she developed a passion for women’s issues which ultimately motivated her decision to take stewardship of MAVIM in 2018.

In the year 2007, she was selected for the Indian Revenue Services (IRS) where she worked on tax regime implementation across several departments such as Service Tax, Central Excise, Customs etc. Subsequently she worked on tax investigations in the Goods and Services Tax (GST) department. Her work has taken her to all corners of Maharashtra with postings in Nagpur, Chandrapur, Nanded, Kolhapur, Mumbai etc.

A native of Uttarakhand, Smt. Shraddha Joshi Sharma has a Bachelor’s degree in Ayurvedic Medical Science from Gurukul Kangri University, Haridwar and an MBA from JBIMS, Mumbai. When she is not working, she enjoys spending time with her family, reading, travelling and mentoring NGOs.